Burgundy is a historical area, added to the Unesco list in 2015, famous for its numerous canals, ancient châteaux and Beaujolais wines. The region was created in 2014 from a merger of Burgundy and Franche-Comté - a historic reunification of the Duchy of Burgundy (Duché de Bourgogne) and the “Free County” of Burgundy (Franche Comté de Bourgogne), divided since 1477 - with Dijon, well-known for its famous mustard, as its capital city.

Bourgogne borders with the Grand Est region and Île-de-France to the North, Switzerland to the East and Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes to the South. The climat is continental, with cold, dry winters and a cool summer, for which reason the grapes best suited for this land are of the early ripening type. The vineyards mainly grow along the South-Eastern hills, 150 to 400 metres above sea level, on chalky terrain originating from the Jurassic era.

The Bourgogne rouge wine comes from a Pinot Noir variety and traces its name back as far as 1375. Delicate and highly valued, it needs a lot of care during the growing season. Its coulour is a deep, intense ruby, the flavour is full-bodied, crispfruited, evoking strawberry, raspberry and cherry.

Typical red Bourgogne wines:
- Pinot Noir
- Gamay
- Pinot Meunier

Typical white Bourgogne wines:
- Chardonnay
- Aligoté
- Pinot Beurot